Kypseli
Greek Dance Center
Pasted Graphic
Sherman Oaks California, USA

Calendar of Events

April 3, 2021
Greek Dance Workshop
with
Yannis Konstantinou
Live Stream from Lake Prespa,
in the Florina region of Greece

Yannis K. Event
1:00 pm PDT * 4:00 pm EDT * 23:00 in Greece
Click here to join the event on
Zoom

Donations welcome via
PayPal logo
to bbilman307@gmail.com
or via Venmo@jozef-bilman

Email xorepse@gmail.com
for alternate ways to donate.


Recent Past Events

March 13, 2021
Pasted Graphic
See it again on YouTube


Donations welcome via
PayPal logo
to bbilman307@gmail.com
or via Venmo@jozef-bilman

Email xorepse@gmail.com
for alternate ways to donate.


* * *

February 6, 2021

Greek Dance Workshop
with Kyriakos Moisidis
Live stream from Thessaloniki, Greece


Kyriakos Art


Dances taught by Kyriakos Moisidis
February 6, 2021


1. Milisso
Dance in 7/8 from Monastiri, North Thrace.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/milisso

2. Kalon Korits
Dance in 5/8 from Matsouka, Pontos.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/kalon-korits

3. Yantsiska
Dance in 7/8 from Episkopi and Hariessa, Naoussa, Macedonia.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/yantsiska

4. Evraiopoula
Couple dance in 9/8 from Dodekanese islands and Kos.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/evraiopoula

5. Dervenagas
Vlach dance in 3/4 from Serres, Macedonia.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/dervenagas

6. Armatsouk
Dance in 2/4 from Kars.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/armatsuk-of-kars

7. Aptalikos
Dance in 9/8 from Asia Minor.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nccM6xnRlE



January 9, 2021
Greek Dance Workshop
Christos art

Dances taught by Christos Papakostas
January 9, 2021


1. Thlikotos
Tsamiko dance in 6/8 from the village of Ayios Giorgos, Karditsa, in the Agrafa Mountains region of Thessaly.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/thlikotos

2. Vgika Psila Sta Marmara
Face-to-face dance in 8/4 from Verdikousia, Larissa, Thessaly and Deskati, Grevena, Epiros.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/vgika-psila-sta-marmara

3. Dai Liri Dai Frangi
Line Karsilamas in 9/8 from Goumenissa, Kilkis.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/o7d9lzuz4kxs

4. Marena
Dance in 11/8 from Edessa, Macedonia.
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/marena



Saturday, December 5, 2020
Dromeno art

See it again on YouTube


Saturday, October 24, 2020

Nikos Michailidis
Pontic-Greek Music in the 21st Century

Live stream from Thessaloniki, Greece, via Zoom

Nikos art

11:00 am PDT * 1:00 pm CDT * 2:00 pm EDT

21:00 in Greece


* * *
Saturday, October 3, 2020
Greek Dance Workshop with

Yvonne Hunt

Direct from her home in Seattle via Zoom

Pasted Graphic 1


These are the dances taught by Yvonne:

1. Gaida,
from Flambouro, Serres

2. Palios Horos, from Ayios Pnevma, Serres
3. Paidouska, from Skotoussa, Serres
  • Track to come
4. Greveniotikos Tsamikos, from Grevena
5. Yerikos, Gaida from Pondismeno, Irakleio, Serres

This is the music Joe Graziosi used at his August workshop.

1. Kalamatianos Panhellenic dance
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/kalamatiano-aryitopula

2. Kalamatianos Kalymnos
from the island of Kalymnos
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/potes-mou-den-iksomena

3. Haniotikos
Syrtos from Chania, Crete
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/otan-se-silloyieme-haniotikos
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/ahi-doumania-ke-foties-haniotikos

4. Pouscheno / Levendikos
from Florina
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/poustseno



Thank you to all who participated in the workshop with Christos Papakostas.
See music links for the dances he taught below.


1. Sousta Siatistas
from Siatista, Western Macedonia, Greece
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/sousta-siatistas

2. Tremouliastos, from Eastern Roumeli, Western Black Sea
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/tremouliastos

3. Teska, from Drama, Central Macedonia
https://soundcloud.com/rebetissa/teshka

4. “Varia Varoun Ta Simantra,” Syngathistos from Vlach village of Syrrako, Epirus
Music to come